top of page


Updated: Jul 4, 2022

Ganesh Chaturthi is one of the biggest festivals in India. this year the 10 days long event will start on August 31, Wednesday. The devotees worship lord Ganesh for wisdom, prosperity and fortune and to seek blessings for their families.

The celebrations begin by booking the right murti for your home. While one might marvel at the beautifully crafted Ganesha idols, one must pay careful attention to the the connection you feel with the Ganpati. To feel the connect look through the Ganesha's eyes, the moment there is a connection, you will get a signal and will know HE is the one coming home.

Also the direction in which the trunk of the Ganesha curls has a significance while selecting the idol. There are 3 types of Ganesha Idols based on the direction of their trunks

1. Vamamukhi or Idampuri Vinayak

This style of Ganesh idols come with a trunk that faces to the left. It is also known as Vastu Ganesha as it is said to remove any vastu related problems in your home. This idol is said to bring a sense of calm & happiness while stimulating success for its worshippers.

2. Dakshniaabimukhi Murti or Dakshin Murti

Here, one can see that the Ganesha idol has a trunk that curves rightwards. This idol is considered to have large amounts of energy surrounding it which can be too strong home one’s home. This idol requires strict rituals of worship as it is associated to the power of the sun. Which is why it is advised not to bring home these idols as most devotees do not actually know the rules of worship. It’s only advised to bring this ganpati home if one knows the exact rituals of worship for a Dakshin Murti Ganesha.

3. The Rare Sushumna Ganesh Idol

This style of Ganesha idol has a trunk that goes straight down only to curve upwards at the very end. These are rare idols and are considered to be extremely special as opposed to the generic Ganesh idols one can find around various market places. This idol signifies the complete openness of Sushumna Nandi. This implies the Kundalini Shakti has reached the crown chakra. One of the 7 chakras that make up our nonphysical state of being.

Ganpati Bappa Morya

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page